I am building my new page, Nature Series.

reflectionpoolNature Series: http://www.dahartley.com/p/paintings-on-wood.html

Nature Series: Themes of Taoism

My paintings are created from real physical spaces that exist in nature.

The painting is intrinsic to the wood panels that I use.

A tree was cut down to create this panel, the life of the tree influences the finished work.

They begin more as sculptural projects. I assemble, sand, stain, and texture,

with an eye to the wood grains. I apply the paint by rubbing the surface. The surface influences the art.

***

“The function of the artist is to make actual the spiritual, so that it is there to be possessed.”

                                                                                                                                                        Robert Motherwell

Exhibition: Water

“Meditation Room”, Reflection Pool, 2008, (8′ x 8′), wood and water; Aspen, 2008, (8′ x 8′) diptych, mixed media on wood.

2 thoughts on “I am building my new page, Nature Series.

Leave a Reply

