I LOVE BEING A GIRL: EVE ENSLER

A video of Eve Ensler speaking on
TED TALKS

***

This blog, FRIEND NATURE, was created to help me expand my practice, the practice of being human. I hoped to assemble from my posts who I am and what I stand for. I began Friend Nature on Word Press in December 2012, inspired by one of my sons who thought that I had something to say, and Word Press was the place to say it.

My plan was to write, and place my best-written work on my web page, www.FriendNature.org.

What I have learned about myself in the past year is that I AM STILL A GIRL, if you listen to Eve Ensler’s Ted Talk video, you will understand. I care about the world, the planet, and the life, as it exists, on a beautiful, fragile place that we call Earth.

The last six months I have been in a teaching credential program to become an art teacher in the grades K – 12th (ages 5 – 18). Friend Nature was developed in the early hours before class, and in the middle of the night, when I could not wait to write and post. I have written several hundred pages in the last six months for the State of California, to qualify as a teacher here, and worked for no pay the last year as a student teacher. As well as taking 16 Education classes for my credential in this past year. I took my CSET test, to demonstrate that I know the subject that I will teach, art, after months of reading and studying.

Recently, I have been reposting because even the early dawn hours were filled by my writings for the State of California. I have just finished my credential, and I have one more week of student teaching to fulfill my program.

What I have been reporting upon were issues that I have found important to me, and should be important to you. Life on Earth. I have posted petitions, and asked you to sign. I have joined, marched, talked, and posted, all the while seeking solutions to the gross imbalances of power and how the powerful create violence against Mother Earth, and her creatures. The more unbalanced we become as a species, the more violence perpetuated.

In this video, we hear Eve Ensler speak about the increased violence to the most venerable, women and girls. My last three posts have been about RAPE IN THE MILITARY. Rape of the women who have chosen to represent the USA, who are trained to fight the enemy, little realizing that the enemy was the recruiter, trainer, or the person fighting next to them.

I believe that to make changes on our Earth it will be necessary to promote the feminine principle, those that girls still possess. My own ‘girlness’ has been beaten, raped, and abused.’ Why has this happened? Because I am a girl.  I do not understand how one (male) could look at a beautiful, enthusiastic, caring person and think; wouldn’t it be fun to beat the girl, rape her, and toss her in a field, trash bin, or out of a bus, dead or alive. Or publicly rape her and post it on Facebook. Or choose any woman and drug her, rape her, and kill her. In civilized society, it is one of every four girls that are raped and worse, to be sold as a sex slave, and treated more or less valuable than cattle. Or kidnapped, chained, beaten, and raped for years, as our recent news has reported.

I have lost two beautiful women in the past month, friends of family, both found in a field, raped, mutilated, and dead.

One was a beautiful, caring, professional nurse, a mother of four, a teaching nurse, and a mentor to many. The suspected killer is her husband. She had told her abusive husband that she was divorcing him, and was not seen again until they found her in a field, mutilated beyond physical recognition.

The other, the daughter of my friend, who recently did not return home from work, and was later found in a field, beaten and raped, killed. Such a cruel and senseless loss to family and friends.

This is too much for me to process, but I am trying to share with you what is to be a girl.

***

EVE ENSLER

Information from Wikipedia

Please read about her new play, “Emotional Creature.”

http://emotionalcreature.com/

 Ensler was born in New York City, New York, the daughter of Chris, a housewife, and Arthur Ensler, a food industry executive. Her father was Jewish and her mother was from a Christian background. As recently described in a profile in The Nation, “In her 2007 book, Insecure at Last (a meditation on deadly American illusions about safety in the wake of the attacks of 9/11), she describes being raped and brutally beaten by her father, a food company CEO, from age 5 to 10.” She graduated from Middlebury College in 1975. She married Richard McDermott in 1978, and divorced him 10 years later. She is the adoptive mother of actor Dylan McDermott, whom she adopted when he was 15 and she was 23.

The Vagina Monologues

The Vagina Monologues was written in 1996. First performed in the basement of the Cornelia Street Café in Greenwich VillageThe Vagina Monologues has been translated into 48 languages and performed in over 140 countries. Celebrities who have starred in the play include: Jane FondaWhoopi GoldbergIdina MenzelGlenn CloseSusan SarandonMarin MazzieCyndi LauperMary Testa and Oprah Winfrey. Ensler was awarded the Obie Award in 1996 for ‘Best New Play’ and in 1999 was awarded aGuggenheim Fellowship Award in Playwriting. She has also received the Berrilla-Kerr Award for Playwriting, the Elliot Norton Award for Outstanding Solo Performance, and the Jury Award for Theater at the U.S. Comedy Arts Festival.

The V-day logo

The V-day logo (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Celebrating female youth

1br-logobg-web

1 Billion Rising

http://onebillionrising.org/

Eve-Ensler

Tony Award winning playwright Eve Ensler talks about her new off-Broadway play, “Emotional Creature.”

http://www.nbcnewyork.com/entertainment/the-scene/184762311.html

http://video.msnbc.msn.com/morning-joe/50185938

One thought on “I LOVE BEING A GIRL: EVE ENSLER

  1. Thank you for writing, sharing and the other work you do too❤
    I am so sorry about the loss of your friends.
    May all women, young women, girls, boys, young men and men be safe from any kind of violence, even the violence in their own minds.

Leave a Reply

